The Start of… Something

2020/10/30

Here we go.

The customary first post to a blog. What each and every person- bar none- must do to officiate the digital opening of their work. I’ve done it. I have marked my place in the pantheons of the world wide web. Nobody can tell me otherwise.

Ah, screw it.

I’m not even sure what the hell I’m supposed to be writing here. Do people even really blog anymore? I know they do, but the heyday of that has come and gone, pretty sure. It’s all social media these days, which is a shame. Having a place on the internet to call your own that doesn’t include all of your potentially racist relatives and ads is a pretty sweet deal.

I’ve actually been sitting on this starting post for over a month. Never found The Right Time™ to put it up, as if such a thing even exists. A very silly feeling, I’d say, but one I know a lot of people struggle with. There’s still not really a lot going on with the site to begin with, either, and my long list of projects ever beckons. I can already feel people nodding their heads along, even if the experience isn’t exactly the same.

For now, progress on the site will continue to be slow. Got a whole list of ideas to sift through, and that’s before we get into the fact that I continue to have no exact plan for this. A beauty of being its creator, I suppose, in that there is no timeline. No push to complete anything within a set time limit, which would only breed stress. I also have the freedom of not being forced to work with some monolithic blob that has to be developed all at once. Take my advice, folks:

Don’t do everything at the same time.

Break it up into smaller, manageable chunks. Work at everything a piece at a time, and then stick it all together progressively. All you’re going to do is burn yourself out otherwise. I mean, seriously. You don’t build a house by making the foundation, putting up the walls, doing the wiring, plumbing, and other stuff at the exact same time. Nobody could ever handle that without a ton of pressure and a complete breakdown. Same concept here.

With that impromptu bout of wisdom out of the way, I’ll end this here. As noted above, we’ll all just have to wait and see what I can pull out in terms of content here. Maybe write up some stuff about the development of my hacks, and my history overall as a ROM hacker. Someone will likely find that interesting.

Until next time, or something.

Return